Fragrance Allergen Threshold Checker
Your supplier's certificate says how much of each allergen is in the fragrance compound. The regulation asks about the finished product. This does that multiplication, applies the right threshold, and tells you which names have to appear in the ingredient list.
🔒 Your formulation never leaves your browser.
The multiplication everyone gets wrong
A certificate saying 4.2% Linalool is not 4.2% of your product — it is 4.2% of the fragrance compound. Dose that compound at 0.8% and the product contains 0.0336%, which is 33 times the leave-on threshold and therefore declarable. Dose it at 0.01% and the same certificate gives 0.00042% — below the threshold, and naming it would be optional. Comparing the certificate figure straight against 0.001% gets both cases wrong.
Leave-on and rinse-off are ten times apart
0.001% for products that stay on the skin, 0.01% for products that are washed off. When the product type is not stated, this tool uses the stricter figure and says so — the alternative is to quietly pick the answer that requires less work.
Why this matters now
Regulation (EU) 2023/1545 took the individually declarable list from 24 substances to 80, adding materials nobody used to treat as fragrance allergens — menthol, camphor, vanillin, several essential oils. A formula that was compliant in 2023 can be non-compliant today with no change to it at all. Products that do not meet the new labelling may not be placed on the EU market after 31 July 2026; stock already placed before then may be made available until 31 July 2028.
What this tool does not include, and why
It does not ship the list of 80 substances. We could not obtain that list from a source we can verify: the European Commission's own page states the thresholds, the deadlines and the count but explicitly does not enumerate the substances, and EUR-Lex returns a JavaScript shell rather than the annex text to any automated request. Publishing an 80-row table copied from secondary sources would look authoritative and be unverifiable — a compliance tool with a wrong list is worse than no list at all.
So the substance names come from your supplier certificate, which is where the authoritative answer for your formula lives anyway. If you need the list itself, ask your fragrance supplier for a certificate stated against the current Annex III, or consult CosIng.
Every check this tool runs (8 rules)
FAL-001 Allergen is above the threshold but not in the ingredient list
Once a fragrance allergen exceeds 0.001% in a leave-on product or 0.01% in a rinse-off one, it has to be named individually in the ingredient list by its INCI name. "Parfum" on its own no longer covers it.
Fix: Add the INCI name to the ingredient list.
FAL-002 Allergen is below the threshold
Below the threshold the substance does not need to be named individually — it stays inside "Parfum". Declaring it anyway is allowed but lengthens a list that consumers already struggle with.
FAL-003 The threshold applies to the finished product, not to the fragrance compound
A supplier certificate states how much of an allergen is in the fragrance compound. The regulation asks about the concentration in the product a consumer buys, which is that figure multiplied by how much compound the formula contains. Comparing the certificate figure directly against 0.001% is the most common way this goes wrong — in both directions.
Fix: Multiply: allergen % in the compound × compound % in the formula ÷ 100.
FAL-004 Product type not stated, so the stricter threshold was used
Leave-on and rinse-off products have thresholds ten times apart. Without knowing which this is, the calculation uses the leave-on figure — the stricter one — and says so rather than guessing the more convenient answer.
Fix: State whether the product stays on the skin (cream, deodorant) or is washed off (shampoo, shower gel).
FAL-005 Allergens listed outside the ingredient list
The declaration belongs in the list of ingredients, in the same list as everything else. A separate "Contains: linalool, limonene" box beside it is a different statement, and it is not the one the regulation asks for.
Source: yaktool engineering reading, not a quotation of the regulation: the ingredient-list conventions checked here (allergens named inside the INCI list rather than in a separate "contains" box) follow common practice under Regulation (EC) 1223/2009. The thresholds, deadlines and the 24→80 expansion are quoted from the European Commission page registered as this rule family's source.
FAL-006 The declarable list grew from 24 to 80 substances
Regulation (EU) 2023/1545 took the individually declarable list from 24 to 80 by adding 56 substances to the individually declarable list, including materials that had never been treated as fragrance allergens — menthol, camphor, vanillin, and several essential oils. A formula that was compliant in 2023 can be non-compliant now without a single change to it.
Fix: Ask suppliers for a certificate against the current Annex III list, not an older one.
FAL-007 Which deadline applies
Products that do not meet the new labelling may not be placed on the EU market after 31 July 2026. Products already placed on the market before that date may continue to be made available until 31 July 2028.
FAL-008 A fragranced product with no allergens declared at all
The ingredient list contains Parfum or Aroma but names no allergens, and the certificate supplied shows at least one above the threshold. Fragrance compounds almost always carry something on the list at declarable levels.
Source: yaktool engineering reading, not a quotation of the regulation: the ingredient-list conventions checked here (allergens named inside the INCI list rather than in a separate "contains" box) follow common practice under Regulation (EC) 1223/2009. The thresholds, deadlines and the 24→80 expansion are quoted from the European Commission page registered as this rule family's source.